Tuesday, September 13, 2005

Top 10 Reasons For Not Doing a 720

This is one for the racing aficionados. If you foul another boat in a race you are supposed to do a penalty that is generally known as a 720. As in 720 degrees. Two complete circles including two tacks and two gybes. Yes, I know that in the latest version of the Racing Rules it is now known as a "two turns penalty" and the definition has changed slightly. But racing sailors are conservative and we will be calling it a 720 for at least another 20 years.

Here are some excuses that I've heard on the water from other sailors who have fouled me but didn't think that they should do a 720.

10. But it's hard to know all the racing rules

9. But I was trying to avoid you

8. But the wind made me do it

7. But you beat me anyway

6. But I was still recovering from the last collision

5. But you weren't disadvantaged

4. But you fouled me in the last race so now we are even

3. But I only hit your mast

2. It doesn't matter that we collided as we were both on port tack

1. But I was out of control

and a bonus one.....I think there is something wrong with my bifocals.

No comments:

Post a Comment