Talking of mind games, one step further (perhaps one step too far) in the mental game of outwitting your opponents is the trick play. By this I mean a move that for a while tricks the opposition into thinking that something is happening which is totally different from what is really happening.
Take for example the "wrong ball play" as shown in this video.
My question for you today, is whether some deceptive move along these lines is even possible in sailboat racing. The nearest I can think of is the fake tack when another boat is covering you. But a move in which the opposition essentially stops playing because they think the game is suspended or over, freeing you to make a huge gain against them? It's hard to imagine. My general recall fiasco (shouting, "General Recall!" just after the start when the RC hasn't signalled one) may be similar, but that was a mistake, not a deliberately deceptive play. Although it could be done with malicious intent. Hmmm. Should I?
And my other question is: If someone in sailing pulled a move as audacious as "wrong ball coach" would they be successfully protested under Rule 2... A boat shall compete in compliance with recognized principle of sportsmanship and fair play?